top of page

Veggie’s Galore!





Welcome back to fitness Friday. If you read my first blog you will have discovered that we

became gardeners this year.


I started 51 tomato plants by seed not thinking that they would all come up or amount to anything. Well I was sure proven wrong, they all came up. After trading some with family members so we would have different varieties, receiving some more from family, and giving some away we ended up with 61 plants and 6 different varieties. Next project, canning tomatoes! Sauces and salsa anyone? I started a few other things inside like kohlrabi, lettuces, and cucumbers. The rest I planted by seed, purchased or traded.




Here is a list of what you will find in our gardens plus overflow in our flower beds and some pots.

Basil, beets, butternut squash, carrots, corn, cucumbers, green beans, iceberg lettuce, kale, kohlrabi, oregano, parsley, peppers, purple cabbage, rhubarb, romaine lettuce, rosemary, snap peas, snow peas, sunflowers, thyme, tomatoes and yellow beans.







So I’ve been very busy getting my exercise by weeding and watering. We have started reaping the rewards of all the hard work and are enjoying the various herbs, rhubarb, kohlrabi, peas, and lettuces. I’ve made stewed rhubarb, rhubarb slush, many salads, and used the herbs in various dishes. Sophie is enjoying the fresh peas and kohlrabi. We will enjoy watching are tomatoes ripen and the rest of our gardens flourish.


Our gardens have not only been a great place for me to get the physical exercise I need but also a place where I get to work on my mental wellbeing as well. I’m able to use it as an accomplishment buster when needed; a distraction from reality and chaos; a teaching tool to use with my daughter; a product of pride for providing food on the table for my family. Who would have thought one could receive so much from a tiny little seed.

I hope you are able to enjoy some fresh produce this season too!

Take care and keep moving. Laurie



bottom of page