top of page

Move More, Sit Less! Motivation-101







Many of you have been asking how do I get or stay motivated when it comes to exercise? Motivation can come in many forms, many different ways to many different people. Here are a few of my suggestions, see which might resonate with you.


Movement matters, big or small, count it all


Organize a way to track and reward your success


Tell yourself about all the amazing health benefits


Include it in your daily routine


Variety is the spice of life, have options


Allow for off days, be patient with yourself


Target, set *SMART goals


Excitement, choose activities you will enjoy



*SMART goals

When setting goals you are providing yourself with a target to aim for. SMART is an acronym that stands for Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Relevant, and Timely. A SMART goal incorporates all of these criteria to help focus your efforts and increase the chances of achieving the goal.


Here is an example of a goal: I want to walk more!

Now let’s make it into a SMART goal.

Specific - Who, What, When, Where, Why?

Who- I

What- walk 20 minutes daily

When- everyday

Where- doesn’t matter, can be anywhere

Why- so I feel healthier and I can play with my grandchildren

Measurable – How will your goal be measured?

20 minutes, every day, 1 month

Achievable - Do you believe it is achievable? (Keeps the motivation for your goal)

Yes, because I know I will feel healthier

Relevant - What is your overall reason? Bring in back to your “why”under Specific

Yes, because I want to be able to play with my grandchildren

Timely - What is the time frame?

1 month

So the old goal was, I want to walk more. The new SMART goal is, I want to walk 20 minutes daily, for 1 month so I feel healthier and can play with my grandchildren.

The new goal now is specific, measurable, achievable, relevant and timely. This goal can now be evaluated and revised when needed.

What will your new SMART goal be? Have fun setting your SMART goals! Take care and keep moving!

Laurie





bottom of page