top of page

Making Fitness Fun!


As our nice weather continues I’m enjoying exercising outdoors. I’m in my gardens, walking

my dogs, biking with Sophie, and doing outdoor home renovations.

Everyone has their likes and dislikes. Finding something you enjoy increases your chances of continuing with it.


For me I enjoy working with people. The group atmosphere; playing team sports, teaching group fitness, playing games with family. When I do these activities I am physically active but am having fun at the same time. I notice that it doesn’t feel so hard because I’m enjoying doing them.

If I had to choose another option to get in my physical activity like going to a gym, following a video, using an app, or working out alone I would find it a lot harder. I would find it more difficult to commit and continue because they would seem more like work to me instead of something I enjoy. If you like one of these options then choice it.

You need to find whatever works best for you and your lifestyle to make a good fit.

Here are some other options you may find you like working by yourself, with a partner, family member, friend, neighbor or even a pet. Joining a club or league in your community. Signing up for an event, class or program.

Sometimes we get exercise by incorporating what we already do throughout our day like yard and housework but maybe not getting the same enjoyment out of them.

Some other ways to make exercise more fun can include adding music, television, or a book, making it into a game and rewarding yourself.

I’m interested in finding out what moves you? How do you make fitness fun? Please comment below.

Take care and keep moving.

Laurie

bottom of page